Here are some amazing Black Canadian comics creators and illustrators to follow and support!

Big thank you to BSAM Canada for sharing Black Canadian comics creators with us. For those who don’t know, BSAM stands for Black Speculative Arts Movement: “BSAM Canada aims to create a collaborative and supportive platform that can empower, elevate, and evolve the Black creative industry and organizations, along with support Black artists who work within the respective field of the speculative arts.”

You can read more about BSAM and check out their publications, exhibition “Curating the End of the World”, and other work here: https://www.bsam-art.com/about

Scroll down for image descriptions and visit our Instagram for links to creators’ profiles! Let us know if you have more recommendations and we’ll add them to this post.

Images:

Sacrifice by Leah Hensel-Williams
Godhead by Ho Che Anderson @hocheanderson
Beddo Art @beddoart
Black Sun Comics @blacksuncomics
Heroes of the World (West Toronto comic brand, founded in 2005) @heroesoftheworld
Z’Isle (a cyclepunk zombie comic book series) @zisle
La Petite Suceuse by D. Mathieu Cassendo @dmcassendo
The Immortal Nadia Greene by Jamal Campbell @pryce14
Brown Sugar Babe illustrations by Akemi Art @akemiart and written by Charlotte Watson Sherman
Favour by Gisele Jobateh
Jahnoy Lindsay @jahnoyl (She-Hulk pencils by Jahnoy Lindsay, written by Mariko Tamaki, pencil work also by Diego Olortegui, cover penciler Mike Deodato)
Anthony Ruttgaizer @mynameiskingdom (Heroes of Homeroom C story by Anthony Ruttgaizer, illustrations by Carlos Granda)
Paris Alleyne @parisalleyne (Haven no. 1 cover art by Paris Alleyne, co-created with Kevin Parnell)
Desert MessiahTe’Shawn Dwyer @teshawndwyer
Gleem by Freddy Carrasco @fredbread
Naomi Collymore @the.darkmess
Black Canadian comics creators to follow and support!
Space Girl by Awuradwoa Afful @rajieeee
Cheneil Ward
Ardo Omer (Wayward Kindred anthology “Uubato” story by Ardo Omer, Shae Beagle and Nikki Powers)
Tee Fergus @teefergus (hand illustration)
good evening by Jamiyla Lowe @jamiylalowe
Pact by Cleopatria Peterson @cleopatriia
Dreamcave byStanley Wany @stanwany
9th Illy by The ComicBook Rapper @9thillycomic
Maïmouna Younglai-Case @ MYounglaiCase on Twitter (image “Racheal from Bunny Bunny”)
Tartarus issue 2 by Johnnie Christmas @johnniexmas and Jack T. Cole
Majik zine by Kaya Joan @kayajoan
inktober 2019 sketches by Rick Joseph (letterer and graphic designer) @lightamatch
Leah M. Francis (reafu) @reafu
Johnny Bullet by Hervé St-Louis
Navel Gazing by Gyimah Gariba @gyimahg
Children of Rebel Gods by Kyle Smith @inkfable
The Blue Road by Wayde Compton @wayde.compton (text by Wayde Compton, illustrations by April Della Noche Milne)

Please follow and like us:
error